Medical Marijuana Card in MichiganThe following is are the necessary steps and instructions to apply for a Medical Marijuana card in Michigan. Also provided is access to the necessary forms, where to mail them and associated fees.

  • A copy of your doctor’s written statement noting your medical condition and recommending medical marijuana
  • Proof of identity and residency, which can be either:
    • A valid Michigan photo ID, or
    • A valid out-of-state photo ID with a copy of your Michigan voter’s registration card as proof of residency.
  • Applicants under 18 years of age must provide two doctors’ statements and their parent or guardian must provide proof of identity, residency, and parentage or legal guardianship (such as a birth certificate or court order)
  • A completed Michigan Medical Marihuana Program Application

In a single envelope, mail the above documents and a check or money order payable to State of Michigan-MMMP (see next section for fee rates) to:

Michigan Medical Marihuana Program
PO Box 30083
Lansing, MI 48909

FEES FOR A MEDICAL MARIJUANA CARD IN MICHIGAN

For applicants 18 years of age and older, there is a $60 application fee for patients and a $25 application fee for caregivers. Applicants under 18 years of age must pay both the $60 patient application fee and the $25 caregiver application fee.

CONTACT THE MICHIGAN MEDICAL MARIHUANA PROGRAM (MMMP)

Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs
Bureau of Professional Licensing
Michigan Medical Marihuana Program
PO Box 30083
Lansing, MI 48909
Telephone Number: 517-284-6400
Email Address: BPL-MMMPINFO@michigan.gov
MEDICAL MARIJAUANA DISPENSARIES IN MICHIGAN

Medical Marihuana Dispensaries are now dictated by Public Acts 281-283. Applications for Marihuana dispensaries, processing facilities, mass grow facilities, secured transporters and testing laboratories/facilities will be available December 15, 2017.

CULTIVATION AND POSSESSION OF MEDICAL MARIJUANA IN MICHIGAN

Under the Michigan Medical Marihuana Program, a qualified patient may possess up to 2.5 ounces of usable marijuana and grow up to 12 marijuana plants. A medical marijuana patient may designate a primary caregiver to grow up to 12 plants on their behalf. Each caregiver can grow marijuana for up to 5 patients, for a total of 60 plants. State law requires a caregiver to store each patient’s medical marijuana in a separate and securely locked location.

THE MICHIGAN MEDICAL MARIJUANA ACT

The Michigan Medical Marihuana Initiative was approved by voters on November 04, 2008. It was enacted into law as the Michigan Medical Marihuana Act (MCL 333.26421 to 333.26430) and became effective on December 04, 2008. The Act allows patients to grow up to 12 marijuana plants and possess up to 2.5 ounces of usable marijuana, allows primary caregivers to grow up to 12 marijuana plants for a patient, and limits primary caregivers to a maximum of 5 patients. The Michigan Medical Marijuana Act of 2008:

  • Allows and provides protections for the medical use of marihuana under state law
  • Provides for a system of registry identification cards for qualifying patients and primary caregivers and imposes a fee for registry application and renewal
  • Allows for rules, administration, enforcement, and penalties regarding medical marijuana
  • Allows affirmative defenses under state law for the medical use of marijuana